• Login
  • Compare your :
  • Flights
  • Hotels
  • Flight + Hotel
  • Private Rentals
  • Cars
  • Holidays
  • Destination
American Indian Arts Canada
By Amy Adejokun Amy Adejokun Section editor

Discover American Indian Arts

Nomadic groups speaking the Algonquian language live in the boreal forest and specialise in making beads made of bone, stone, shell and seeds. They also do embroidery from caribou hair. To establish treaties or during peace ceremonies, they exchange ?Wampum' belts decorated with shell beads. They always decorate their jackets and moccasins with beaded motifs, and make common items out of birch bark. The Huron women do embroidery from moose hair, and the men carve wooden masks, snow-shoes, and canoes. The Mohawks create silver jewellery decorated with beads and traditional stone sculptures. The Abenakis specialise in basketwork from ash trees. In the far north, the Naskapis developed art exclusively from the caribou, transforming the skins, antlers and horns into clothes and jewellery. Art in Quebec is very rich and diversified, due to these various cultures and communities.

American Indian Arts

American Indian Arts , American Indian jewellery , Canada
American Indian jewellery, Canada

These unique pieces have been handcrafted by the Navajo, Hopi, Mexican, Mayan, and Aztec Indians, among others. An insight into authentic art.

© Jean-Louis Ris
American Indian Arts , Canada
American Indian Arts © Revel / 123RF
American Indian Arts , Canada
American Indian Arts © Martine Oger / 123RF
American Indian Arts , Canada
American Indian Arts © George Burba / 123RF
American Indian Arts , Canada
American Indian Arts © Darryl Brooks / 123RF
Twitter Facebook
Canada : Discover our cities Toronto
  • Toronto Toronto
  • Montreal Montreal
  • Vancouver Vancouver
  • Ottawa Ottawa
  • Calgary Calgary
  • Edmonton Edmonton
  • Winnipeg Winnipeg
  • Quebec City Quebec City
  • Victoria Victoria
  • Saskatoon Saskatoon
  • Regina Regina
  • Trois Rivieres Trois Rivieres

Canada : The regions

  • Ontario

  • Quebec

  • Alberta

  • British Columbia

  • Newfoundland and Labrador

  • Yukon

  • New Brunswick

  • Manitoba

  • Saskatchewan

  • Prince Edward Island

  • North-west Canada

  • Nunavut

  • New Scotland