© Mihtiander / 123RF
  • Flights
  • Hotels
  • Flight + Hotel
  • Cars
  • Holidays
Flights to Antananarivo from £483

Antananarivo is the capital and the largest city in Madagascar. It lies around 90 miles from the East coast, around 1,200m above sea level, and is built on the summit of a mountain ridge. Founded in the early 1600s, it is one of the only southern African capitals established before the arrival of the colonialists. There is no direct flight from London to Ivato Airport (TNR), but do an online price comparison and finding a cheap flight with a short stopover, usually in Paris, will be no problem. Antananarivo is the springboard to the rest of the island and finding a cheap flight to other Madagascan cities is simple. Antananarivo is still somewhat off the beaten path. For the more adventurous tourist, this is part of the charm. Whilst there, check out the Rova, or Queen's Palace, partly destroyed by fire in 1995, it still offers the best 360 degree views of the city. Stroll along the narrow, cobbled streets of the historic upper borough and see the colonial houses, cathedrals and palaces set amongst the traditional wooden houses of the Malagasy people. Check out Avenue de l´Indépendence, which has plenty of opportunities for shopping, eating out and nightlife. Also worth checking out are the plentiful open air markets around the city.

Prices for flights to Antananarivo by airline

  • Kenya Airways

    London Antananarivo

    Sat 10 Sep - Mon 03 Oct

  • Air France

    Birmingham Antananarivo

    Fri 16 Sep - Tue 20 Sep

Flight destination: Antananarivo

Travelling the 10 mile distance to the city from Ivato Airport leaves three main options. The Taxi-brousse, a local bus service which will take you to the capital's market. This is the cheapest but slowest option, and not recommended at night, especially if you have luggage. The ADEMA shuttle bus, a privately run bus service scheduled to coincide with flight times. A better value option. Or you can take a taxi if you don't mind spending a little extra. From Ivato Airport it is simple to do a quick price check and find a cheap flight to many other cities in Madagascar, if you want to continue your journey elsewhere on this unique and beautiful island.

Latest searches for cheap Antananarivo flights

  • Kenya Airways

    London Antananarivo

    Sat 10 Sep - Mon 03 Oct

  • Kenya Airways

    Manchester Antananarivo

    Mon 05 Sep - Wed 05 Oct

  • Air France

    Edinburgh Antananarivo

    Thu 13 Apr - Sun 23 Apr

  • Air France

    Birmingham Antananarivo

    Fri 16 Sep - Tue 20 Sep

  • Kenya Airways

    Newcastle Antananarivo

    Fri 16 Sep - Fri 30 Sep

  • Easyjet

    Bristol Antananarivo

    Sun 17 Jul - Sun 24 Jul

  • Easyjet

    Belfast Antananarivo

    Sun 24 Jul - Sun 31 Jul

  • Ryanair LTD

    Leeds Antananarivo

    Sat 23 Jul - Sat 30 Jul

  • Ryanair LTD

    Liverpool Antananarivo

    Fri 22 Jul - Thu 28 Jul

  • Easyjet

    Inverness Antananarivo

    Sun 24 Jul - Sun 31 Jul

  • Air France

    Cardiff Antananarivo

    Mon 25 Jul - Mon 01 Aug

  • KLM

    Teesside Antananarivo

    Mon 25 Jul - Mon 01 Aug

  • Eastern Airways

    Southampton Antananarivo

    Sun 24 Jul - Sun 31 Jul

  • KLM

    Humberside Antananarivo

    Sun 24 Jul - Sun 31 Jul

  • Aer Lingus

    Exeter Antananarivo

    Mon 25 Jul - Sun 31 Jul