• Login
  • Compare your :
  • Flights
  • Hotels
  • Flight + Hotel
  • Private Rentals
  • Cars
  • Holidays
  • Destination
Castellu de Cucuruzzu France
Amy Adejokun
Amy Adejokun Section editor

Discover Castellu de Cucuruzzu

This is undoubtedly Corsica's most interesting prehistoric site. Dating back to 7,000 years BC, archaeological excavations have revealed that it was in fact occupied until the Middle Ages. The Castellu de Cucuruzzu is a Bronze Age (second century before Christ) citadel consisting of three parts.
The fortress is shaped like a stem and made out of blocks (each weighing around a ton and standing at over 16.40 ft high) and manmade walls. The only way of reaching it is via a pathway created between the enormous walls of a rock, which also leads to the 'torré' (a circular monument at the dead centre of the site which is reminiscent of a temple facing east). Part of the roof, consisting of large flagstones, is still present. The perimeter wall of the village, which protects a small group of dry stone houses, is also visible.
The fruits of the archaeological excavations which have taken place at the site are preserved and housed together at the Levie museum, an excellent complement to the overall understanding of the site. N.B.: a pathway links the Castellu de Cucuruzzu site to the nearby medieval ruins of Cappula.

Castellu de Cucuruzzu

Twitter Facebook
France : Discover our cities Paris
  • Paris Paris
  • Nice Nice
  • Bordeaux Bordeaux
  • Lyon Lyon
  • Marseille Marseille
  • Lille Lille
  • Toulouse Toulouse
  • Nantes Nantes
  • Rennes Rennes
  • Toulon Toulon
  • Bastia Bastia
  • Rouen Rouen
  • Clermont Ferrand Clermont Ferrand, Auvergne, France,
  • Caen Caen
  • Ajaccio Ajaccio
  • Perpignan Perpignan
  • Angers Angers
  • Reims Reims
  • Avignon Avignon
  • Le Havre Le Havre
  • Poitiers Poitiers
  • Nimes Nimes
  • La Rochelle La Rochelle
  • Annecy Annecy
  • Angoulême Angoulême

France : The regions

  • Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur

  • Brittany

  • Ile de France

  • Midi-Pyrénées

  • Normandy

  • The Loire region

  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais

  • Corsica

  • Languedoc-Roussillon

  • Auvergne

  • Alsace

  • Central France

  • Picardy

  • Poitou-Charentes

  • Franche-Comté

  • Lorraine

  • Aquitaine

  • Rhône-Alpes

  • Burgundy

  • Limousin

  • Champagne-Ardenne