Although the original castle dates back to the 10th century, the ruins that can be seen on the site today belong to the castle that was redesigned in the 13th century.
The home of the powerful Saissac family in the 11th century, an important Occitan dynasty, the Château de Saissac was, like the others, besieged by Simon de Montfort in 1209.
Between the 15th and 17th centuries, the castle underwent a major renovation in order to create a 135m by 35m wall, which included part of the 12th century wall, flanked by round tours and a polygonal keep.
At the French Revolution, the castle was abandoned and gradually fell into ruin until 1862, the year it was plundered. Despite all this, the remaining ruins, including the keep, still give an imposing appearance to the ensemble and offer visitors the ideal setting for the historic 'son et lumière' (sound and light) show that takes place here in summer.