• Login
  • Compare your :
  • Flights
  • Hotels
  • Flight + Hotel
  • Private Rentals
  • Cars
  • Holidays
  • Destination
Le château de Saissac France
By Amy Adejokun Amy Adejokun Section editor

Discover Le château de Saissac

Although the original castle dates back to the 10th century, the ruins that can be seen on the site today belong to the castle that was redesigned in the 13th century.
The home of the powerful Saissac family in the 11th century, an important Occitan dynasty, the Château de Saissac was, like the others, besieged by Simon de Montfort in 1209.
Between the 15th and 17th centuries, the castle underwent a major renovation in order to create a 135m by 35m wall, which included part of the 12th century wall, flanked by round tours and a polygonal keep.
At the French Revolution, the castle was abandoned and gradually fell into ruin until 1862, the year it was plundered. Despite all this, the remaining ruins, including the keep, still give an imposing appearance to the ensemble and offer visitors the ideal setting for the historic 'son et lumière' (sound and light) show that takes place here in summer.

Le château de Saissac

Twitter Facebook
France : Discover our cities Paris
  • Paris Paris
  • Nice Nice
  • Bordeaux Bordeaux
  • Lyon Lyon
  • Marseille Marseille
  • Lille Lille
  • Toulouse Toulouse
  • Nantes Nantes
  • Rennes Rennes
  • Toulon Toulon
  • Bastia Bastia
  • Rouen Rouen
  • Clermont Ferrand Clermont Ferrand, Auvergne, France,
  • Caen Caen
  • Reims Reims
  • Avignon Avignon
  • Le Havre Le Havre
  • Ajaccio Ajaccio
  • Perpignan Perpignan
  • Angers Angers
  • Nimes Nimes
  • La Rochelle La Rochelle
  • Annecy Annecy
  • Poitiers Poitiers
  • Cherbourg Cherbourg

France : The regions

  • Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur

  • Brittany

  • Ile de France

  • Midi-Pyrénées

  • Normandy

  • The Loire region

  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais

  • Corsica

  • Languedoc-Roussillon

  • Auvergne

  • Alsace

  • Central France

  • Picardy

  • Poitou-Charentes

  • Franche-Comté

  • Lorraine

  • Aquitaine

  • Rhône-Alpes

  • Burgundy

  • Limousin

  • Champagne-Ardenne