• Login
  • Compare your :
  • Flights
  • Hotels
  • Flight + Hotel
  • Private Rentals
  • Cars
  • Holidays
  • Destination
Le château de Termes France
By Amy Adejokun Amy Adejokun Section editor

Discover Le château de Termes

A real eagle's nest perched 470m above the Gorges de Terminet, from which it takes its name, the Château des Termes was considered impregnable.
Yet despite these claims, what was one of the greatest medieval seigneuries in the Bas-Languedoc met the same fate as the other citadels having harboured Cathars and fell to Simon de Montfort during the Albigensian Crusade in 1210, after four months of resistance.
Occupying an important strategic location, the castle was elevated to the status of royal fortress in 1260 and became one of the 'Five Sons of Carcassonne'. Today not much remains of the citadel, which bore the brunt of the hardships of the Albigensian Crusade, and the few remaining ruins are sometimes difficult to identify.
Nevertheless, you can still see the relics of two walls, an interior one with its tower in the north corner, and an exterior one with its buttresses in the north-west corner, which are easily visible.

Le château de Termes

Twitter Facebook
France : Discover our cities Paris
  • Paris Paris
  • Nice Nice
  • Bordeaux Bordeaux
  • Lyon Lyon
  • Marseille Marseille
  • Lille Lille
  • Toulouse Toulouse
  • Nantes Nantes
  • Toulon Toulon
  • Rennes Rennes
  • Rouen Rouen
  • Bastia Bastia
  • Clermont Ferrand Clermont Ferrand, Auvergne, France,
  • Caen Caen
  • Le Havre Le Havre
  • Ajaccio Ajaccio
  • Perpignan Perpignan
  • Angers Angers
  • Reims Reims
  • Avignon Avignon
  • La Rochelle La Rochelle
  • Annecy Annecy
  • Poitiers Poitiers
  • Nimes Nimes
  • Cherbourg Cherbourg

France : The regions

  • Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur

  • Brittany

  • Ile de France

  • Midi-Pyrénées

  • Normandy

  • The Loire region

  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais

  • Corsica

  • Languedoc-Roussillon

  • Auvergne

  • Alsace

  • Central France

  • Picardy

  • Poitou-Charentes

  • Franche-Comté

  • Lorraine

  • Aquitaine

  • Rhône-Alpes

  • Burgundy

  • Limousin

  • Champagne-Ardenne