• Login
  • Compare your :
  • Flights
  • Hotels
  • Flight + Hotel
  • Private Rentals
  • Cars
  • Holidays
  • Destination
The Caen Abbeys France
By Amy Adejokun Amy Adejokun Section editor

Discover The Caen Abbeys

The Abbaye aux Dames (Ladies' Abbey) and the Abbaye aux Hommes (Men's Abbey) in Caen are two cult places facing one another which should not be missed.
The first building was built around 1060 on the command of Duchess Matilda, William the Conqueror's wife, and today it houses the Regional Council of Lower Normandy.
The men's abbey, founded by William in 1060, includes Saint-Etienne's Church and conventual buildings which are now the Town Hall.
Place de la Reine-Mathilde and Jean-Marie Louvel esplanade
14000 Caen

The Caen Abbeys

The Caen Abbeys , Two Abbeys , France
Two Abbeys

The abbeys of Caen are divided into two distinct buildings: The 'Men's Abbey' and the 'Women's Abbey'.

© Easyvoyage.com
The Caen Abbeys , The Men's Abbey , France
The Men's Abbey

The Men's Abbey is now home to city hall. It was built by William the Conqueror to establish his domination of Lower Normandy.

© Easyvoyage.com
The Caen Abbeys , The Women's Abbey , France
The Women's Abbey

This is where the remains of Matilda of Flanders, the wife of William the Conqueror, have been resting since 1083.

© Easyvoyage.com
The Caen Abbeys , France
The Caen Abbeys © Easyvoyage.com
The Caen Abbeys , France
The Caen Abbeys © Easyvoyage.com
Twitter Facebook
France : Discover our cities Paris
  • Paris Paris
  • Nice Nice
  • Bordeaux Bordeaux
  • Lyon Lyon
  • Marseille Marseille
  • Lille Lille
  • Toulouse Toulouse
  • Nantes Nantes
  • Rennes Rennes
  • Toulon Toulon
  • Rouen Rouen
  • Bastia Bastia
  • Clermont Ferrand Clermont Ferrand, Auvergne, France,
  • Caen Caen
  • Ajaccio Ajaccio
  • Perpignan Perpignan
  • Angers Angers
  • Reims Reims
  • Avignon Avignon
  • Le Havre Le Havre
  • La Rochelle La Rochelle
  • Annecy Annecy
  • Poitiers Poitiers
  • Nimes Nimes
  • Cherbourg Cherbourg

France : The regions

  • Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur

  • Brittany

  • Ile de France

  • Midi-Pyrénées

  • Normandy

  • The Loire region

  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais

  • Corsica

  • Languedoc-Roussillon

  • Auvergne

  • Alsace

  • Central France

  • Picardy

  • Poitou-Charentes

  • Franche-Comté

  • Lorraine

  • Aquitaine

  • Rhône-Alpes

  • Burgundy

  • Limousin

  • Champagne-Ardenne