• Login
  • Compare your :
  • Flights
  • Hotels
  • Flight + Hotel
  • Private Rentals
  • Cars
  • Holidays
  • Destination
The Mnemosyne Museum in Prunelli di Fium'Orbu France
Amy Adejokun
Amy Adejokun Section editor

Discover The Mnemosyne Museum in Prunelli di Fium'Orbu

Mnemosyne is the goddess of memory who was responsible for preserving the history of our ancestors. The nine muses, believed to be representative of the arts (poetry, painting, theatre, etc.), were born of her union with Zeus. Under this heavenly symbol, the museum traces the history of the area through archaeological discoveries, tools, and traditional crafts, such as shoemaking, ironwork, and saddlery. A special presentation enables visitors to experience a nighttime walk around Zilia and Balbo, the patriarch, as well as the political prisoner internment camp dating back to 1943. The Atelier, or ?workshop', is located above the post office and gives visitors an insight into the other side of Corsica, the true, authentic, industrious Corsica, represented by the 'Mamma' holding her spindle. There is also a series of photographs depicting the hidden architectural jewels of the forests of the Fium'Orbu region.

France : Discover our cities Paris
  • Paris Paris
  • Nice Nice
  • Bordeaux Bordeaux
  • Lyon Lyon
  • Marseille Marseille
  • Lille Lille
  • Toulouse Toulouse
  • Nantes Nantes
  • Rennes Rennes
  • Toulon Toulon
  • Bastia Bastia
  • Rouen Rouen
  • Clermont Ferrand Clermont Ferrand, Auvergne, France,
  • Caen Caen
  • Ajaccio Ajaccio
  • Perpignan Perpignan
  • Angers Angers
  • Reims Reims
  • Avignon Avignon
  • Le Havre Le Havre
  • Poitiers Poitiers
  • Nimes Nimes
  • La Rochelle La Rochelle
  • Annecy Annecy
  • Cherbourg Cherbourg

France : The regions

  • Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur

  • Brittany

  • Ile de France

  • Midi-Pyrénées

  • Normandy

  • The Loire region

  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais

  • Corsica

  • Languedoc-Roussillon

  • Auvergne

  • Alsace

  • Central France

  • Picardy

  • Poitou-Charentes

  • Franche-Comté

  • Lorraine

  • Aquitaine

  • Rhône-Alpes

  • Burgundy

  • Limousin

  • Champagne-Ardenne