Culture Guyana

  • Guyana,
    Roland IJdema / 123RF
  • Guyana
    Oliver Nowak / cameris/123RF
Amy Adejokun
Amy Adejokun Expert destination Guyana

Guyana : Discover the country's culture

Guyana : Discover the country's history

Historical dates

1595: British Sir Walter Raleigh arrives, the Dutch West India Company replace him for almost two centuries.
1814: Great Britain receives this part of the Guyanas and calls it British Guiana, while Indians start to flock.
1961: Indian Cheddi Jagan becomes Prime Minister.
1966: independence as part of the Commonwealth, and a new name: Guyana.
1978: more than 900 people die in the mass suicide of the 'People's Temple'.
1980: Burnam is President.
1985: Hugh Desmond Hoyte takes office.
1992: victory of Cheddi Jagan, who becomes President.
1997: election of Janet Jagan, the former president's widow.
1999: Janet Jagan resigns and Prime Minister Bharrat Jagdeo is in charge of the government until he is elected President in March 2001.

Guyana : Stay up to date on the country's holidays and events


23rd February: Republic Day, National Day
26th May: Independence Day
1st August: Liberty Day.

Elsewhere in the world
Guyana : Holidays
  • Holidays
  • Flights
  • Hotels
  • Flight + Hotel
  • Cars