• Login
  • Compare your :
  • Flights
  • Hotels
  • Flight + Hotel
  • Private Rentals
  • Cars
  • Holidays
  • Destination
The Ionian Sea Italy
By Amy Adejokun Amy Adejokun Section editor

Discover The Ionian Sea

With its mild and hospitable climate, the Calabria's Ionian Coast has always attracted tourists in considerable numbers. The ancient Greeks set up colonies here, and the many archaeological articles they left behind bear testimony to their time in the region. Tourists travel here year after year due to the rich cultural heritage and crystal clear sea, together with the chance to explore peaceful villages and enjoy the Calabrian sunshine. At Sybaris, the charm of an ancient city blends with the stolidity of the beaches and the beauty of the lush natural surroundings. Fascinating monuments and very fine sand make Isola di Capo Rizzuto one of the most popular destinations in Italy. From the headland where this charming market town stands, you can head south and stop off at Roccella Ionica with its medieval castle and splendid sea.

Our holiday packages to Italy
  • Western Med Mini Cruise with Barcelona stay
  • Western Med Mini Cruise with Barcelona stay Italy Savona Barcelona Marseille , Italy - 6days/5nights | Planete Cruise
    from  £419
  • Meridiana Hotel Italy , Italy - 8days/7nights | TUI
    from  £508
  • Eden Hotel Italy , Italy - 8days/7nights | TUI
    from  £510

The Ionian Sea

Twitter Facebook
Italy : Discover our cities Rome
  • Rome Rome
  • Venice Venice
  • Milan Milan
  • Verona Verona
  • Naples Naples
  • Florence Florence
  • Turin Turin
  • Palermo Palermo, Sicily, Italy,
  • Genoa Genoa
  • Perugia Perugia
  • Bari Bari
  • Catania Catania
  • Parma Parma
  • Bolzano Bolzano
  • Crotone Crotone
  • Trieste Trieste
  • Taormina Taormina
  • Elba Island Elba Island
  • Taranto Taranto
  • Udine Udine
  • Cosenza Cosenza, Calabria, Italy
  • Gorizia Gorizia
  • Imperia Imperia
  • Isernia Isernia
  • Rieti Rieti

Italy : The regions

  • Sardinia

  • Sicily

  • Campania

  • Calabria

  • Abruzzo

  • Lombardy

  • Basilicata

  • Emilia-Romagna

  • Molise

  • Marche

  • Umbria

  • Friuli Venezia Giulia

  • Liguria

  • Tuscany

  • Lazio

  • Piedmont

  • Trentino

  • Puglia

  • Veneto

  • Aoste Valley