• Login
  • Compare your :
  • Flights
  • Hotels
  • Flight + Hotel
  • Private Rentals
  • Cars
  • Holidays
  • Destination


By Amy Adejokun Amy Adejokun Section editor

Our Editorial team's advice

Huesca is surrounded by some exceptional natural landscapes, as is the case throughout the vast majority of the province. Needless to say, then, that it is an ideal base from which to explore the region whilst partaking in various activities and familiarising yourself with the history, culture, traditions and nature of the area. As far as the city itself is concerned, despite the past presence of the Romans and the Visigoths here, the most significant part of the local heritage dates back to the Arab invasion, with fortification walls and a few towers from this period still visible today. Huesca took on its present form following the Reconquista, thus erasing all traces of its Roman, Baroque, Renaissance and Gothic influences. Nevertheless, the Gothic Cathedral still stands today and is well worth a visit, as is the university, which brings so much life to the city.
If you feel like exploring a little further afield, you might be interested to know that the provincial council (or 'Diputación' in Spanish) provides a rather odd little bus service for tourists to help them get around the area, with one route serving Loarre Castle and Bolea Collegiate Church. It is, in fact, a 1916 Hispano-Suiza bus with the registration plate HU-48 and a Mercedes engine, representing a real change of era.
Last but not least, Huesca is representative of the cuisine of the province as a whole, with a variety of exquisite dishes to try, such as Chicken Chilindron, traditional local 'chiretas' (a lamb tripe-based dish) and various regional cheeses, meats and cold cuts, all washed down with a good Somontano wine.



Spain : Discover the cities
  • Madrid Madrid
  • Barcelona Barcelona
  • Las Palmas Las Palmas
  • Ibiza Ibiza, The Balearic Islands, Spain,
  • Valencia Valencia
  • Seville Seville
Country Spain
  • Andalusia
  • The Balearic Islands
  • The Canary Islands
  • Asturias
  • Aragón
  • Cantabria
  • Castile-La Mancha
  • Castile and Leon
  • Catalonia
  • Extremadura
  • Galicia
  • La Rioja
  • Basque Country
  • Community of Madrid
  • Navarra
  • Murcia
  • Community of Valencia