• Login
The Don Quixote route , Spain
The Don Quixote route

A scenic drive along the history route of the character Miguel de Cervantes

  • Compare your :
  • Flights
  • Hotels
  • Flight + Hotel
  • Private Rentals
  • Cars
  • Holidays
  • Destination
The Don Quixote route Spain
By Amy Adejokun Amy Adejokun Section editor

Discover The Don Quixote route

Soren Rasmussen At the heart of the plain of Castilla-La Mancha, the Don Quixote route follows the old ways and paths of the famous hero. The journey begins in Alcalá de Henares, where Cervantès' childhood home still stands. In Mota del Cuervo, which is a typical little village, you will see the first windmills. Then come the villages of Criptana; El Toboso, with the house of Dulcinea now transformed into a museum; Argamasilla de Alba, home to the strange prison where Cervantès created his character; and Almagro. Along the way you will see the lagoons of Ruidera: a succession of waterfalls and lakes that extends over 12 mi.

Our holiday packages to Spain
  • Tabaiba
  • Tabaiba Spain , Spain - 4days/3nights | TUI
    from  £326
  • Apartamentos Aloe Spain , Spain - 5days/4nights | TUI
    from  £388
  • Gloria Izaro Club Hotel Spain , Spain - 4days/3nights | TUI
    from  £420

The Don Quixote route

The Don Quixote route , Windmills , Spain

The windmills of Campo de Criptana

© Mikhail Mandrygin / 123RF
The Don Quixote route , Toledo , Spain

Don Quixote and Sancho Panza are ever present in the streets of Toledo.

© Richard Semik / 123RF
The Don Quixote route , Majestic sites , Spain
Majestic sites

The Castle of Sigüenza.

© Alberto Loyo / 123RF
The Don Quixote route , Criptana , Spain

The windmills of Don Quixote in the fields of Criptana

The Don Quixote route , Sigüenza , Spain

Sigüenza is a major part of the route of Don Quixote.

© Alberto Loyo / 123RF
Twitter Facebook
Spain : Discover our cities Madrid
  • Madrid Madrid
  • Barcelona Barcelona
  • Las Palmas Las Palmas
  • Ibiza Ibiza, The Balearic Islands, Spain,
  • Valencia Valencia
  • Seville Seville
  • Bilbao Bilbao
  • Vitoria Vitoria
  • La Coruna La Coruna
  • Murcia Murcia
  • Cadiz Cadiz
  • Santa Cruz de Tenerife Santa Cruz de Tenerife
  • Vigo Vigo
  • Santa Cruz De La Palma Santa Cruz De La Palma
  • Valladolid Valladolid
  • Tarragona Tarragona
  • Pamplona Pamplona
  • Santander Santander
  • Formentera Formentera
  • Cordoba Cordoba
  • Garachico Garachico
  • Puerto de la Cruz Puerto de la Cruz
  • Los Cristianos Los Cristianos
  • Can Pastilla Can Pastilla
  • Costa Teguise Costa Teguise

Spain : The regions

  • Andalusia

  • The Balearic Islands

  • The Canary Islands

  • Asturias

  • Aragón

  • Cantabria

  • Castile-La Mancha

  • Castile and Leon

  • Catalonia

  • Extremadura

  • Galicia

  • La Rioja

  • Basque Country

  • Community of Madrid

  • Navarra

  • Murcia

  • Community of Valencia