Greece to re-open to tourists, but not to the British
Posted on 01/06/2020


Twitter Facebook 4 shares

The Greek tourism ministry has spoken, Greece will be opening again to tourists from 15 June, but not to tourists from the worst-affected countries, such as the UK, France, Italy and Spain. People from these countries will all have to be tested to be allowed in, and will have to quarantine for 7 or 14 days, depending on whether the test comes back positive or negative.

Easing the restrictions

Easing the restrictions
© epicstockmedia/123RF

Only visitors from 29 countries will be welcome in Greece without these measures for now, and they include Albania, Australia, Austria, North Macedonia, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Switzerland, Estonia, Japan, Israel, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lebanon, New Zealand, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Norway, South Korea, Hungary, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic and Finland.

The list will be expanded on July 1 though. And, according to the Greek Tourism Ministry, visitors will be able to enter the country on direct flights to Athens and Thessaloniki, and could be randomly tested for coronavirus.

"If the test is positive, the passenger is quarantined under supervision for 14 days," the ministry of foreign affairs said.

For Greece, tourism represents 20% of the economy, which is why the government is trying to make sure the season is not completely lost.

The country has had an early lockdown, which is said to be one of the main reasons of such a good handle during the pandemic, and so little infections.

Only 2,909 people have tested positive for Covid-19 in Greece and 175 people have died from it, which is very low in comparison to other countries such as the UK, where there have been 269,000 confirmed cases and 37,837 deaths.